I am JUST a Labor and Delivery nurse

Sister Nadi
Reactions:
Years of practice: 19

I am JUST a Labor and Delivery nurse

Unread post by Sister Nadi »

I am just a nurse. A Labor and Delivery nurse. Sounds like fun, doesn't it? Well...

I am just the nurse who was there during the birth of your child.

I am just the nurse who held your hand, looked you in the eye, and made you feel like the strongest woman in the world.

I am just the nurse who recognized that you had severe preeclampsia and got an order from your physician for magnesium sulfate to prevent you from seizing.

I am just the nurse who carefully monitored your breathing WITH MY STETHOSCOPE because I know the possible complications.

I am just the nurse who vigilantly monitored your baby's heartbeat and recognized that he was in distress.

I am also just the nurse who had you on the OR table by the time your doctor was in the parking lot to deliver a healthy baby.

I am the nurse who took photos of your baby because you were all alone... Even though I should really be charting and doing about a hundred other things.

I am just the nurse who's family has to experience another day without me because I stayed 3 hours late to see you through a difficult delivery.

I am just the nurse who maintained your dignity and made you feel comfortable when you were at your most vulnerable.

I am just the nurse who convinced your OB to give you more time before performing a cesarean section.

I am also just the nurse who waited as long as possible to call your OB for delivery so that he wouldn't cut an episiotomy.

I am just the nurse who held your hand and cried with you when you came through triage... and your baby had no heartbeat.

I am just the nurse who hasn't had ANYTHING to eat or drink since my cup of coffee I drank this morning when I woke up... at 5am.